Village Board Members

The Board of Trustees is the policy-making branch of the Park Forest government. The board is responsible for enacting all legislation for the health, safety, and welfare of the residents of the village. Trustees arae elected to four-year terms. The mayor is elected to a four-year-term.


John A. Ostenburg

Mayor John A. Ostenburg was elected to his first four-year term as Mayor in 1999. He was re-elected without opposition in 2003. In 2007, 2011, and 2015, he was elected to his third, fourth, and fifth four-year terms respectively. He formerly served seven years as a Park Forest Trustee and was an Illinois State Representative from the 80th House District from 1993 to 1995.

Mayor Ostenburg serves as a member of the Community & Economic Development Committee and the First-Tier Suburbs Council for the National League of Cities (NLC), and also as one of 40 elected officials from across the country serving on the NLC REAL (Race, Equity and Leadership) Council. He is a member of the Land Use Committee for the Illinois Municipal League (IML). He is a member of the Executive Board of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus, an organization representing the 270 municipalities of the greater Chicago region, and currently holds the position of 2nd Vice Chairperson. He also is Chairperson of the MMC Environment Committee and serves on the MMC Housing & Community Development Committee. He is the immediate past President of the South Suburban Mayors & Managers Association (SSMMA) and serves on the SSMMA Executive Committee. He also serves on the SSMMA's Legislative Committee and as liaison to the Chicago Southland Housing & Community Development Collaborative (CSHCDC). He is a member of the Cook County Land Bank Authority (CCLBA) Board of Directors, where he serves as Secretary.

In 2009, Mayor Ostenburg received the Diversity Award presented by Diversity Inc., for his longstanding efforts to promote racial, ethnic, gender, age, and sexual-orientation harmony and equality.


Mae Brandon

Trustee Mae Brandon began her service on the Park Forest Board of Trustees in 2003, and is currently serving her fourth term as Park Forest Trustee. Brandon is the past president of the PTO of School District 163 as well as an area Girl Scout Troop leader. She has served as staff liaison to various commissions during her tenure on the Board, including the Youth Commission and Senior Commission. Mae and her husband, Calvin, moved to Park Forest from Baltimore in 1966. They have one son, three grand-children and one step-grandchild.


Tiffani Graham

Trustee Tiffani Graham is a lifelong resident of Park Forest. Tiffani has served on the Park Forest Youth Commission, the Rotary Club, and was a member of the Park Forest Sustainability Committee. Graham was elected to her first term as Park Forest Trustee in April 2015.


Robert McCray

Trustee Robert McCray, his wife Alicia, and son, Erik, have lived and enjoyed life in Park Forest for nearly 40 years. McCray is a retired manager from the U.S. Postal Service. He was re-elected for his fourth term as Park Forest Village Trustee in April of 2017.


Georgia O'Neill

Trustee Georgia O'Neill is currently serving her third term as Park Forest Trustee, having been re-elected in April 2015. O'Neill is the former CEO of Area Chambers, having served for 22 years. She has worked extensively with the Economic Development Advisory Committee since becoming Trustee in October 2006. 


Theresa Settles

Trustee Theresa Settles and her husband, James, have lived in Park Forest for close to 35 years, raising two daughters, who both attended Indiana School and Rich East High School. Settles is a registered nurse, and has been employed by Ingalls Memorial Hospital for the last 36 years. Settles was re-elected to a second term as Park Forest Trustee in April 2017. 

VanderbiltJ_web.jpg Trustee

Jonathan Vanderbilt

Trustee Jonathan Vanderbilt is a fourth generation Park Forest resident. Vanderbilt holds a bachelors degree in history from Millikin University and has served on the Mayor's Citizen Advisory Committee, the Park Forest Recreation and Parks Advisory Board, and the Park Forest Environment Committee. Vanderbilt was elected to his first term as Village trustee in April of 2017.